GMAT Debrief

I again missed to keep my promise! I got busy in celebrating some success and in catching up some sleep after my GMAT on 16th Aug in which I ended up getting 750(Q49,V44)

Here’s my G-day experience:
 
I reached test center exactly 30 minutes early fearing that I might be late for the check in procedures. But after reaching center I found out that center had some technical issues and it will take at least another 1 hour before I can take test. The instructor told me not to get panic and stay calm. I said yeah that’s the last thing I wanted to hear.
 
After 1 hour, I was allowed to sit in front of the monitor. And then I figured that the monitor had problem so I asked the instructor to change. It took another 15 minutes. So almost after 75 minutes I reached center I actually saw the GMAT screens. I used school selection screens to test the erasable marker and notepad. I have heard a few things about the quality of them so I wanted to make sure I have the good ones!
 
I had pre-designed templates for my essays (will share on request) so I was quite confident about this part. I had an argument related to supporting to take some actions based on a poll result. This has been my favorite type of argument so I went after it. For next 30 minutes my world was only this argument! This was followed by an issue. It was something like – “It is individual’s responsibility to preserve natural environment – not that of government”. Again pre-designed template helped.
 
I raised my hand and took “long” 8 minutes break. I had taken lemon water with me for some energy so took some sips from it. I went to restroom, washed my face and told myself to concentrate on one question at a time in quant.
 
Started quant and first question was of number property, something that can stump anyone if he’s overconfident. Again I tried to follow a strategy that I decided and followed in last few tests. I saw few hard questions mixed with really tough DS. I had 2 consecutive probability questions in last 7. I finished quant with 15 seconds to score. I had observed previously that I make too many mistakes in an attempt to complete the quant well in time so I wanted to make sure I use every second. Overall I had a feeling that I can get at least 49 (that’s what I got in my last GMAT prep)
 
Again, took that “long” 8 minutes break J I recalled SRK’s dialogue (“Sattara minute hai tumhare pass”) from Chak De. That has been my motivation since last 2 weeks. I told myself that if I do well in next 75 minutes, I will be able to achieve bigger dreams.
 
I just went with full force in verbal. It started with SC, followed by a couple of CR and a monstrous RC (some 4-5 paragraphs long). Again I had a strategy on how I would tackle a first few questions. So I didn’t panic even though I took more than 2 minutes per question for first 10. But I noticed that the questions were increasingly getting difficult. I got another RC around 13 th question, again 4 paragraphs long.
 
Now I started getting SC with whole sentence underlined and CR with complete the sentence. By 23 rd question I had a feeling that I was doing well and as I wanted to accelerate the pace I got another 5 paragraphs long RC. I don’t remember much about the questions from 27 th to 31st but I had 17 minutes and 10 questions left (including one RC). I was praying that I get a short RC and that’s what I got. Only 2 paragraphs but phew all 4 questions were inference questions. Now I had 10 minutes and 6 questions left and around that time only my fellow test take completed his test, so instructor came and they started talking. The ear plugs that I requested at the start of test really helped. I tried hard to concentrate to do well on last 5-6 questions. I finished verbal with 5 seconds to spare. But I never felt rushed through the section.
 
Now I started filling the BIQs and was taking my time. My instructor came and told me he was getting late(!!). It was around 7:15 pm and he had to go. So in a real hurry I clicked next 8 times and then the screen asked whether I want to report the score. I asked myself – “Do I have an option?” J I clicked yes (my instructor told me best of luck by coming near to my ear) and here I got the score 750. I said yes and gave a high five to instructor and even he reciprocated! I guess even he enjoyed it.
 
I was a relaxed soul after 5 months. I decided to take GMAT first in Feb. Started gathering material in Feb and March and joined two groups  – prachi_pareekh_gmat@yahoogroups and GMAT_May2007@googlegroups. By April I was preparing for exam by spending more than 1-2 hours everyday. I work for an MNC and am in a managerial position which eats out a lot of time. Basically leaving for office around 10 am and coming back by 11:30pm.  For many days I just went through the emails of these groups when I couldn’t read. If these groups were not around, I would not have got the motivation to slog day in day out. I sincerely owe a majority of whatever success I achieved in GMAT to these groups. There are great contributors like Prachi, Shobhit, Amit, Arora, Sarah, Avinash, Nobendu, Nimesh, etc… and many others whose names I can’t remember now. 
 
I have committed myself to contribute more with any queries related GMAT materials, questions & answers, tricks, or anything that I can help you with. I will follow up with post related to my essay templates, test strategies, material I used.
 
Thanks again for your patience to read through the long post.
 
Best of luck to all, who are still preparing for GMAT. Remember “Sattara minute hai tumhare pass”.
 
Cheers!

Posted in GMAT. 1 Comment »

One Response to “GMAT Debrief”


Leave a Reply

